Gifts

img_7315

I’ve been given a few food items recently and I’m not at Bea Johnson’s stage of refusing medals from mayors  and refusing even the smallest of gifts is difficult. So I accept and guiltily eat away.

To anyone who has been living zero-waste for a long time, I’m sure it’s easy peasy to refuse things like the above. But for me, it is so counter-intuitive and against everything I have ever learnt – to refuse a gift (and especially a gift to me as a host) (and especially food).

I tell myself that I’m still a newbie and still transitioning relatively quietly i.e. not shouting about it on the rooftops, therefore it’s up to me to make the decision of when to alert people to my lifestyle.

3 thoughts on “Gifts

  1. I’m with you on the gift front! The joys of feeling appreciated and having close social networks are just as good for the world as reducing waste. Obviously it’s great when you can combine the two, and as people start to get used to your lifestyle, the type of gifts may change too. But I think you’re doing good 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

