Buying only what you need

I am leaving my Glasgow home for a few days today, and have been emptying my food stocks over the last week, so as not to throw away any food.

Yesterday, I was invited to a dinner with friends and made these super scrumptious Salted Caramel Crack Brownies – I had everything in the cupboard apart from eggs and chocolate. I went to Locavore to buy eggs, and I only bought three – just what I needed.

It made me feel quite still and silent inside, this idea that I didn’t need to buy six eggs. That what is not “mainstream” sometimes makes a lot of sense. That I wouldn’t have to give away another three eggs. That we can, if we want to, choose how we consume. That we can, if we want to, think about our choices.

I was in a hurry and didn’t take a photograph of the eggs to illustrate this post, so instead I am posting this image of the postman’s paper slip a few days ago.

img_6843

Because we do have a glitter ball outside our door.

Leave a comment